RULES FOR CONTINUING JUDICIAL EDUCATION

Rule

1. Purpose.

2. Continuing Judicial Education Requirement.

3. Hours of Accredited Continuing Judicial Education Defined.

4. Annual Reports by Judges.

5. Sanctions for Failure to Comply.

6. Applicability.

Adopted by the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration

June 23, 2000

Editor's notes. — The former rules, adopted 4, 1978, were superseded by revised rules, by the Wyoming Judicial Conference February adopted and effective June 23, 2000.

Rule 1. Purpose.

By continuing judicial education judges and justices can better fulfill their obligation to the public. These provisions establish a minimum for such continuing judicial education.

Rule 2. Continuing Judicial Education Requirement.

Each judge and justice shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited continuing judicial education every year.

Each commissioner and magistrate shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited continuing judicial education or 15 hours of accredited continuing legal education, as defined in the Rules for Continuing Legal Education of Members of the Wyoming State Bar, or 15 hours of a combination of either accredited continuing judicial education or continuing legal education every year.

Hours completed in any year in excess of the minimum number may be carried forward to satisfy requirements for either of the two (2) years next following.

History: The 2002 amendment added the second paragraph.

Rule 3. Hours of Accredited Continuing Judicial Education Defined.

(a) An hour of accredited continuing judicial education means an hour in attendance at an accredited continuing judicial education program. Judges who lecture in an accredited program shall receive three (3) hours credit for each hour of lecturing.

(b) The State Court Administrator shall accredit continuing judicial education programs and compile continuing judicial education credits. Any dispute concerning accreditation of programs or compilation of credits shall be resolved by the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration.

(c) The final published course schedule of an accredited continuing judicial education program shall be determinative of the number of hours of accredited continuing judicial education available through such program.

(d) The State Court Administrator may allow equivalent credit for such activities, as in the administrator's determination further the purposes of

these rules. Such activities may include, but are not limited to, writing and publishing an article in a legal periodical, part time teaching in an ABA approved law school, or delivering a paper or speech on a professional subject at a meeting primarily attended by judges, lawyers, or law students. The number of hours of credit to be allowed for such activities, and the procedures for obtaining such equivalent credit, will be determined by the State Court Administrator based upon the documentation supporting the activity for which credit is sought. Any dispute concerning the administrator's determination will be referred to the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration for resolution.

(e) A judge or justice or a sponsoring agency desiring approval of a continuing judicial education activity or program shall submit a request to the State Court Administrator. The request must include a brief description of the subject matter to be included in the activity or program, anticipated speakers and presenters, and a descriptive resume of the individual or entity seeking approval of a continuing judicial education activity or program.

(f) Credit will be allowed for attendance and participation at any continuing judicial education approved or sponsored program, including any such program sponsored by the following groups or organizations:

The Wyoming State Bar or a duly authorized committee or section thereof; The state bar association of any other state or an authorized section or committee thereof;

The American Bar Association or any authorized section thereof;

A law school on the approved list of the American Bar Association;

The Wyoming Trial Lawyers Association;

The American Trial Lawyers Association;

National College of District Attorneys;

National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges;

The Joint Committee for Continuing Legal Education of the American Bar Association and the American Law Institute;

The Practicing Law Institute;

The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation;

The Defense Research Institute, Inc.;

The National College of Criminal Defense Lawyers and Public Defenders, Bates College of Law, University of Houston, Houston, Texas;

The Appellate Judges Seminars, Institute of Judicial Education, New York University School of Law, New York, New York;

The National Judicial College, University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada;

The Five-State Judicial Conference; and

American Academy of Judicial Education

(g) Four (4) hours of continuing judicial education credit will be given to each sitting member of the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration for attendance at each of the quarterly Board meetings, not to exceed sixteen (16) hours of continuing judicial education credit per calendar year.

(h) One (1) hour of continuing judicial education credit will be given for every two hours of service provided by sitting judges who serve on committees established by Court order, not to exceed 50% of the annual continuing judicial education credit requirement per calendar year.

History:

Amended March 3, 2005, effective March 15, 2005; amended effective January 5, 2015; amended June 22, 2021, effective September 1, 2021.

The 2005 amendment added (g).

Rule 4. Annual Reports by Judges.

On or before February 1st of each year, each judge and justice shall make a written report to the State Court Administrator, in such form as the administrator prescribes, concerning such judge or justices completion of accredited continuing judicial education during the preceding calendar year. Such report shall include the titles of programs attended, the sponsoring agency, the number of hours in actual attendance at each such program, and such other information as may more fully clarify the report. A copy of the form is appended hereto as Attachment A.

Editor's notes. — Attachment A appears at the end of this rules set.

Rule 5. Sanctions for Failure to Comply.

In the event a judge or justice fails to comply with the provisions of Rule 4, the State Court Administrator shall notify such judge or justice that a report has not been received. If a report is not filed within thirty (30) days of such notice, or, if a report shows a failure to complete the prescribed number of hours of continuing judicial education, and a waiver is not granted, the administrator shall report the facts to the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration for resolution.

For good cause shown, the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration may, in individual cases involving hardship or extenuating circumstances, grant waivers of the minimum education requirements, or extension of time within which to fulfill the same or to make the required report.

Rule 6. Applicability.

These rules shall apply to all justices of the Wyoming Supreme Court, district judges, chancery court judges, and circuit court judges.

Attachment A

| CONTINUING JUDICIAL EDUCATION Application for Credit Hours Calendar Year 20 |
|--|
| I hereby certify that I attended the following course(s) of instruction: |
| Name of Sponsor, Location and Program Date Hours in Attendance |
| Please atlach a copy of the program agenda. |
| L, |
| 2 |
| 3 |
| |
| 4 |
| 5 |
| ····· |
| I certify that I attended hours as shown on the above captioned seminar programs during the calendar year 20 |
| Dated this day of, 20, |
| Printed Name of Judge Signature of Judge |

Return to: Elaine Kirby, Court Services Office, Supreme Court Building, Cheyenne, WY 82002. Phone: 307-777-7583 Fax: 307-777-3447

-

Rule 6

I

4

History: Amended October 26, 2021, effective December 1, 2021.