
RULES FOR FEES AND COSTS FOR CIRCUIT COURTS
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1. Costs and Fees in Criminal Actions.
2. Record Checks.
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IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING

OCTOBER TERM, A.D. 2023

IN THE MATTER OF APPELLATE )
FILING AND DOCKETING FEES IN )
THE CIRCUIT COURTS AND MUNICIPAL ) General Order 23-01
COURTS )

ORDER SETTING APPELLATE FILING AND DOCKETING FEES

IN THE CIRCUIT COURTS AND MUNICIPAL COURTS

THIS MATTER came before the Court upon its own motion in consideration
of the need to set uniform filing and docketing fees for appellate filings in the
circuit courts and municipal courts. The Court finds that such uniform fees as
set forth below should be adopted. It is therefore

ORDERED that for the preparation of the record on appeal to the district
court, including certified copy of the docket entries, the sum of $20.00 shall be
paid at the time of filing the notice of appeal to the appropriate circuit court or
municipal court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this general order be published in the
advance sheets of the Pacific Reporter, the Wyoming Court Rules Volume; and
be made available online at the Wyoming Judicial Branch’s website, http://
www.courts.state.wy.us. This general order shall remain in full force and effect
until such time as may be amended by the Court.

DATED this 9th day of November 2023.
BY THE COURT:

/S/

KATE M. FOX

CHIEF JUSTICE

Editor’s notes. — The Rules for Fees and
Costs for County Courts, adopted April 7, 1987,
and effective June 1, 1987, were superseded by

Rules for Fees and Costs for Circuit Courts,
adopted May 9, 2000, and effective July 1, 2000.
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Rule 1. Costs and Fees in Criminal Actions.

(a) Circuit courts shall collect costs in the sum of $20.00 for every misde-
meanor case wherein the defendant is found guilty, enters a plea of guilty or no
contest or is placed on probation as part of a deferral process, unless otherwise
specifically excepted by statute or court rule, which costs shall be assessed as
part of the sentence. In addition, for every misdemeanor case wherein the
defendant is found guilty, enters a plea of guilty or no contest or is placed on
probation as part of a deferral process, unless otherwise specifically excepted
by statute or court rule, a fee of $50.00 shall be imposed. Of this amount,
$40.00 shall be deposited into the judicial systems automation account
established by W.S. § 5-2-120, and $10.00 shall be deposited into the indigent
civil legal services account established by W.S. § 5-2-121.

(b) In addition to the costs and fees provided for under paragraph (a) above,
the court shall impose the victim’s compensation fee as required by W.S. §
1-40-119, unless the court determines the defendant has an inability to pay
and that no reasonable probability exists that the defendant will have an
ability to pay.

History:
Amended August 13, 2002, effective Septem-

ber 1, 2002; amended December 17, 2002, effec-
tive January 1, 2003; amended May 25, 2010,
effective July 1, 2010; amended July 18, 2017,

effective July 18, 2017; amended August 23,
2017, effective November 1, 2017; amended
May 7, 2020, effective July 1, 2020; amended
September 27, 2022, effective December 1,
2022.

Rule 2. Record Checks.

All requests for a record check shall be submitted in writing by the applicant.
Response to the request for a record check shall be made by the court in writing
as soon as practicable after the written request is received by the court.

The fee for checking circuit court records shall be ten dollars ($10.00).
Payment of the $10.00 fee for each record check shall be made in cash, by check
payable to the court, or by debit or credit card.

Only one fee shall be charged for a record check involving a particular name
and any reasonable derivation or other spelling of that name. However, a
separate record check fee will be charged for each and every alias which is
dissimilar to the original name submitted.

No charge shall be made for checking circuit court records if requested by an
employee of a governmental agency.

Any request for copies of documents shall be billed separately as allowed by
these rules above and beyond any fee charged as set forth herein.

This rule and the charge provided only applies to services required from
court personnel to check and/or abstract court records. This rule has no
application to the personal examination of any court records including indexes
by any individual desiring information from these public records.

History:
Amended July 24, 2001, effective November

1, 2001; amended December 31, 2001, effective

April 1, 2002; amended September 11, 2002,
effective November 1, 2002; amended August
11, 2016, effective September 1, 2016.

Rule 3. Fee for Copies. [Effective until July 1, 2024]

The fee for making copies shall be $1.00 for the first page and $.50 for each
subsequent page.

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002; Amended April 30, 2024, effective July 1,
2024.
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Rule 3. Fee for Copies. [Effective July 1, 2024]

The fee for making copies, or for transmitting copies electronically including
facsimile or email, shall be $1.00 for each page.

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002; Amended April 30, 2024, effective July 1,
2024.

Rule 4. Fee for Facsimile Transmission. [Effective until July 1, 2024]

The clerk shall charge $1.00 per page to transmit or receive an electronic
transmission, including facsimile or email, unless the court has found the
party is indigent or is entitled to representation by appointed counsel

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002; amended December 18, 2012, effective

March 1, 2013; amended October 6, 2020, effec-
tive December 7, 2020; Amended April 30, 2024,
effective July 1, 2024.

Rule 4. Fee for Facsimile Transmission. [Effective July 1, 2024]

The clerk shall charge $1.00 per page to receive an electronic transmission,
including facsimile or email, unless the court has found the party is indigent or
is entitled to representation by appointed counsel.

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002; amended December 18, 2012, effective

March 1, 2013; amended October 6, 2020, effec-
tive December 7, 2020; Amended April 30, 2024,
effective July 1, 2024.

Rule 5. Fee for Copies of Recorded Proceedings.

The fee for copies of recorded proceedings shall be $5.00 per proceeding.

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002; amended December 22, 2015, effective
April 1, 2016.

Rule 6. Overpayments.

In the case of overpayments, a refund need not be made unless the over
payment exceeds $10.00.

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002.

Rule 7. Fee for Exemplification of Court Documents.

The fee for exemplification of court documents shall be $5.00.

History:
Added December 31, 2001, effective April 1,

2002.

Rule 8. Appellate Filing and Docketing Fees.

For all records in cases appealed or certified to the district courts, the
appellate and docketing fees for the circuit courts shall be $100.00; of which,
$40.00 shall be collected for court automation and shall be deposited into the
judicial systems automation account established by W.S. 5-2-120, and $10.00
shall be collected for indigent civil legal services and shall be deposited into the
indigent civil legal services account established by W.S. 5-2-121.
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History:
Adopted April 30, 2024, effective July 1,

2024.
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