CHECKLIST FOR PLAINTIFF DIVORCE WITH MINOR CHILDREN

This checklist is for your convenience and is not a substitute for the detailed instructions. Please be sure to read the detailed instructions.

STEP 1: Getting Started

Not all the forms in this packet may be needed for your specific situation. It's important to go through them and read the instructions to know which ones you need.

Start by reviewing these three forms below:

- Overview
- List of Forms- Plaintiff
- Plaintiff's Family Law Information and Instructions

STEP 2: Filing Your Divorce

File your divorce in the District Court where either you or your spouse resides within Wyoming. Bring an original and two copies of all forms with you when you file your case. The Clerk will keep the original, you keep one copy, and the other copy is for serving the Defendant as described in **Step 3**.

		Complaint for Divorce with Children		
		Vital Statistics Form		
	☐ Confidential Statement of the Parties for Child Support			
		Summons		
		Pay filing fee (check with Clerk for amount and payment options)		
	se one o	ving the Defendant ption: Defendant signed the Acknowledgement and Acceptance of Service form:		
		File original Acknowledgment and Acceptance of Service form; and		
		File original Summons with the Court.		
•	• If the Defendant was personally served by the Sheriff:			
		File original Summons and the Return or Affidavit of Service (completed by Sheriff) with the Court.		

STOP: Wait for Defendant's Answer

Wait for the Defendant to file an **Answer** to the **Complaint**.

	dant was personally served in Wyoming or signed an Acknowledgement and of Service : wait 20 days.
	20 days have elapsed.
	OR
If the Defen	dant was personally served outside Wyoming: wait 30 days.
	30 days have elapsed.
STEP 4: In	itial Disclosures
	Send the Initial Disclosures to the Defendant within 30 days after the Defendant's Answer is due. DO NOT file the initial disclosures with the Court.
•••••	
There are th	oving Your Case Forward ree options to choose from on this step depending on your situation. Review carefully and pick the option that best describes your situation.
-	on A: If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim you both agree on all issues, complete Option A.
_	on B: If the Defendant did not file an Answer or Answer and nterclaim, complete Option B.
-	on C: If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim you do NOT agree on all issues, complete Option C.
	: If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim and you n all issues, fill out and file the following documents to finish your Divorce:
	Reply to Counterclaim. If the Defendant filed an Answer and Counterclaim, you must file a Reply to Counterclaim within 20 days from the date the Defendant filed the Answer and Counterclaim. You do NOT need to complete this form if the Defendant only filed an Answer.
	Confidential Financial Affidavit If employed, attach tax returns for past two years; and
	r - J , r J ,

		Attach statement of earnings for the current year; OR
		If self-employed, attach verified income and expense statements for
		past two years;
		Attach tax returns for past two years; and
		Attach documentation about health insurance if applicable.
Additional Fo	rms Tl	hat May Be Needed:
		Affidavit of Imputed Income . If the Defendant does NOT file a
		Confidential Financial Affidavit, you will need to complete the
		Affidavit of Imputed Income form to show the Court how much
		money the Defendant makes. You do not need to complete this form
		if the Defendant filed a Confidential Financial Affidavit.
		Affidavit for Divorce Without Appearance of Parties. Use this
		form only if both parties have reached an agreement and have signed
		the Decree of Divorce , or if one party has defaulted and all required
		default paperwork has been filed with the court, including an Entry
		of Default.
		Decree of Divorce with Children. Sign the Decree of Divorce in
		front of a Notarial Officer or the Clerk. Each page will need to be
		initialed by both you and the defendant.
		Order for Income Withholding.
		require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county ed. DO NOT COMPLETE THESE FORMS UNLESS REQUIRED.
		Certificate of Completion of a Parenting Class (If you are
		required to complete a parenting class, the instructor for the class
		will give you this form for you to file with the Clerk.)
Copies and Er	nvelope	es:
		Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.
		One envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a
		copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
		One envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk
		to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.
		Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for
		your records.
		-

Hearing:

Some Courts require a hearing before the Judge will sign the **Decree of Divorce**.

If s	so, you wil	Il need to request that the Court set a date to hold the hearing.
		Request for Setting.
		Order Setting Hearing (Judge will fill out date and time.)
		Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to
	_	mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to you.
		Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the
		Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to the
		Defendant.
		Mail a copy of the Request for Setting to the Defendant and keep a
		copy for your records.
At	tend the H	Hearing:
		dress respectfully, and do the following:
		Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in
		Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the
		Complaint for Divorce , or 2) you and your spouse were married in
		Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.
		Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the
		marriage (why you want a divorce.)
		Tell the Judge why the settlement you reached (who gets what) is
		fair.
		Tell the Judge why the agreement you reached about the children is
		in the best interest of the children.
		Give the Decree of Divorce to the Judge. The Judge will make any
		necessary changes to the Decree of Divorce and sign it.
		e complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is of District Court.
		Defendant does NOT file an Answer , fill out and file the following your Divorce:
	Appl	ication for Entry of Default.
		avit in Support of Default.
	Take	a blank Entry of Default for the Clerk to sign.
	Conf	idential Financial Affidavit.
	Attac	h tax returns for prior two years; and
		If employed, attach tax returns for prior two years;
		Attach statement of earnings for the current year: OR

		If self-employed, attach verified income and expense statements for	
		prior two years;	
		Attach tax returns for prior two years; and	
		Attach documentation about health insurance if applicable.	
	Affid	avit of Imputed Income. You will need to complete the Affidavit of	
	Impu	ited Income form to show the Court how much money the Defendant	
	make	s.	
	Affid	avit for Divorce Without Appearance of Parties.	
☐ Decree of Divorce with Children.			
	Orde	r for Income Withholding.	
	•	require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county led. DO NOT COMPLETE THESE FORMS UNLESS REQUIRED.	
	Certificate of Completion of a Parenting Class (If you are required to complete a parenting class, the instructor for the class will give you this form for you to file with the Clerk.)		
Copie	s and l	Envelopes:	
		Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for	
		filing.	
		Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to	
		mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.	
		Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the	
		Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.	
		Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.	
<u>Heari</u>	ng:		
Some	Courts	s require a hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce .	
If so,	If so, you will need to request that the Court set a date to hold the hearing.		
		Request for Setting.	
		Order Setting Hearing (Judge will fill out date and time.)	
		Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to	
		mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to you.	
		Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the	
		Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to the	
		Defendant.	

		Mail a copy of the Request for Setting to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.
Attend	the He	aring:
Be on t	ime, dre	ess respectfully, and do the following:
		Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.
		Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the marriage (why you want a divorce.)
		Tell the Judge why the division of property and debts (who gets what) is fair.
		Tell the Judge why the plans for the children are in the children's best interest.
		Give the Decree of Divorce to the Judge. The Judge will make any necessary changes to the Decree of Divorce and sign it.
Your divorce filed with the		complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is
both do NOT a	gree on	Defendant files an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim , and you all of the issues of your divorce, fill out and file the following forms finish your Divorce:
you at trial, th	ough y	ngly recommended that you hire or find an attorney to represent you may represent yourself. If you choose to represent yourself, own risk and will be expected to know the law and follow the
	Counterfrom the	to Counterclaim. If the Defendant filed an Answer and erclaim, you must file a Reply to Counterclaim within 20 days e date the Defendant filed the Answer and Counterclaim. You do d to complete this form if the Defendant only filed an Answer.
		 □ Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing. □ Mail copy to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.
Reques	st a Tri	al Date
-		Request for Setting. Order Setting Divorce Trial (Judge will fill out date and time.) Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.

	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk		
	mail a copy of the Order Setting Divorce Trial to you. Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Divorce Trial to		
	Defendant. Mail a copy of the Request for Setting to the Defendant and keep a		
	copy for your records.		
Pretrial Discl	osures		
	File at least 30 days before the trial date, unless otherwise ordered		
	by the court.		
	Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.		
	Mail copy to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.		
Request a Co	urt Reporter		
•	e trial to be recorded by an official court reporter, provide notice to		
	rter as soon as possible, but no later than three working days before		
	can notify the court reporter by phone, email, or by submitting a t. If providing notice through the mail, the request must be received		
-	eporter no later than three working days prior to the hearing.		
of the court is	porter no later than three working days prior to the nearing.		
	Request a court reporter.		
Attend the Ti	rial:		
Be on time, dr	respectfully, and do the following:		
	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in		
	Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the		
	Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in		
	Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.		
	Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the		
	marriage (why you want a divorce.)		
	Tell the Judge why the division of property and debts (who gets		
_	what) that you are asking for is fair.		
П	Tell the Judge why the plans for the children that you are asking for		
_	are in the children's best interest.		
П	Present any evidence and witnesses to support what you are		
	requesting.		
	requesting.		

Decision by Judge:

The Court will tell you at the end of the trial if it will prepare the **Decree of Divorce** or if it wants you or the other party to prepare the **Decree of Divorce** and the terms to include in it. Have a blank **Decree of Divorce** ready to fill out in case the Judge

asks you to p	repare the Decree of Divorce. This way, you can fill it out as the		
Judge gives the			
	Decree of Divorce with Children (Unless the Court is preparing		
	this for you.)		
	Order for Income Withholding.		
	ay also require these additional forms (or others) depending on the your case is filed. DO NOT COMPLETE THESE FORMS UNLESS		
	Certificate of Completion of a Parenting Class (If you are required to complete a parenting class, the instructor for the class will give you this form for you to file with the Clerk.)		
Copies and E	Envelopes:		
	Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.		
	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.		
П	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the		
_	Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.		
	Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.		

Your divorce will be complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is filed with the Clerk.