# CHECKLIST FOR PLAINTIFF DIVORCE WITH NO MINOR CHILDREN

# This checklist is for your convenience and is not a substitute for the detailed instructions. Please be sure to read the detailed instructions.

### STEP 1: Getting Started

Not all the forms in this packet may be needed for your specific situation. It's important to go through them and read the instructions to know which ones you need.

Start by reviewing these three forms below:

- Overview
- List of Forms- Plaintiff

Complaint for Divorce

• Plaintiff's Family Law Information and Instructions

### **STEP 2: Filing Your Divorce**

П

File your divorce in the District Court where either you or your spouse resides within Wyoming. Bring an original and two copies of all forms with you when you file your case. The Clerk will keep the original, you keep one copy, and the other copy is for serving the Defendant as described in **Step 3**.

	_	complaint for 21, orec
		Vital Statistics Form
		Summons
		Pay filing fee (check with Clerk for amount and payment options)
STEF	3: Ser	ving the Defendant
Choo	se one o	ption:
•	If the Defendant signed the Acknowledgement and Acceptance of Service form	
		File original Acknowledgment and Acceptance of Service form; and
		File original <b>Summons</b> with the Court.
•	If the	Defendant was personally served by the Sheriff:
		File original Summons and the Return or Affidavit of Service (completed
		by Sheriff) with the Court.

#### STOP: Wait for Defendant's Answer

Wait for the Defendant to file an **Answer** to the **Complaint**.

	ant was personally served in Wyoming or signed an <b>Acknowledgement and</b> of <b>Service</b> : wait 20 days.
	20 days have elapsed.
	OR
If the Defenda	ant was personally served outside Wyoming: wait 30 days.
	30 days have elapsed.
STEP 4: Init	ial Disclosures
	Send the <b>Initial Disclosures</b> to the Defendant within 30 days after the Defendant's Answer is due. <b>DO NOT</b> file the initial disclosures with the Court.
There are three	ving Your Case Forward be options to choose from on this step depending on your situation. Review arefully and pick the option that best describes your situation.
-	n A: If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim ou both agree on all issues, complete Option A.
_	n B: If the Defendant did not file an Answer or Answer and terclaim, complete Option B.
_	n C: If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim ou do NOT agree on all issues, complete Option C.
	If the Defendant filed an <b>Answer</b> or <b>Answer and Counterclaim</b> and you all issues, fill out and file the following documents to finish your Divorce:
	Reply to Counterclaim. If the Defendant filed an Answer and Counterclaim, you must file a Reply to Counterclaim within 20 days from the date the Defendant filed the Answer and Counterclaim. You do NOT need to complete this form if the Defendant only filed an Answer.
Additional F	orms That May Be Needed:
	☐ <b>Affidavit for Divorce Without Appearance of Parties.</b> Use this form only if both parties have reached an agreement and have signed

	the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> , or if one party has defaulted and all required default paperwork has been filed with the court, including an <b>Entry of Default</b> .
	Decree of Divorce. Sign the Decree of Divorce in front of a
	Notarial Officer or the Clerk. Each page will need to be initialed by both you and the defendant.
The Court may also where your case is f	o require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.
Copies and Envelo	pes:
	Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.
	One envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a
	copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
	One envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk
	to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to the Defendant.
	Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for
	your records.
Haarina	
Hearing:	s require a hearing before the Judge will sign the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> .
	Ill need to request that the Court set a date to hold the hearing.
	Request for Setting.
П	Order Setting Hearing (Judge will fill out date and time.)
	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to
	mail a copy of the <b>Order Setting Hearing</b> to you.
	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the
_	Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Order Setting Hearing</b> to the
	Defendant.
	Mail a copy of the <b>Request for Setting</b> to the Defendant and keep a
	copy for your records.
A44 3 4b . 3	
Attend the l	
be on time, o	dress respectfully, and do the following:
	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in
	Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the <b>Complaint for Divorce</b> , or 2) you and your spouse were married in
	Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.
	j stating and at least one of job has fived in 11 joining evel since.

Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the
marriage (why you want a divorce.)
Tell the Judge why the settlement you reached (who gets what) is fair.
Give the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to the Judge. The Judge will make any necessary changes to the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> and sign it.
be complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce and it is k of District Court.
ne Defendant does NOT file an <b>Answer</b> , fill out and file the following in your Divorce:
olication for Entry of Default.
davit in Support of Default.
e a blank Entry of Default for the Clerk to sign.
davit for Divorce Without Appearance of Parties.
ree of Divorce.
ree of Divorce. so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.
so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county
so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.
so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.  I Envelopes:
so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.  I Envelopes:  Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for
so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.  I Envelopes:  Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.
so require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county filed.  I Envelopes:  Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.  Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to
Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to you.
Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to you.
Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to Mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.  Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.
Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to Mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to the Defendant.  Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.
I Envelopes:  Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.  Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.  Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.  Tests require a hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.  The provided Hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.  The provided Hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.  The provided Hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.
Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.  Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to you.  Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to the Defendant.  Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.  Tests require a hearing before the Judge will sign the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> .  The require a hearing before the Judge will sign the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> .  The require a hearing before the Judge will sign the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> .  The require a hearing before the Judge will sign the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> .  The requirement of the requirement of the requirement of the polymer.

	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the			
	Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to the			
_	Defendant.			
	Mail a copy of the <b>Request for Setting</b> to the Defendant and keep a			
	copy for your records.			
Attend the H	earing:			
Be on time, di	ress respectfully, and do the following:			
	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in			
	Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the			
	Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in			
	Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.			
	Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the			
	marriage (why you want a divorce.)  Tall the Judge why the division of preparty and debte (who gets			
	Tell the Judge why the division of property and debts (who gets what) is fair.			
	Give the <b>Decree of Divorce</b> to the Judge. The Judge will make any necessary changes to the Decree of Divorce and sign it.			
Your divorce will be	e complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is			
filed with the Clerk.				
<b>OPTION C.</b> If the Defendant files an <b>Answer</b> or <b>Answer and Counterclaim</b> , and you both do NOT agree on all of the issues of your divorce, fill out and file the following forms and attend the trial to finish your Divorce:				
CAUTION: It is strongly recommended that you hire or find an attorney to represent you at trial, though you may represent yourself. If you choose to represent yourself, you proceed at your own risk and will be expected to know the law and follow the court rules.				
Count from t	to Counterclaim. If the Defendant filed an Answer and terclaim, you must file a Reply to Counterclaim within 20 days the date the Defendant filed the Answer and Counterclaim. You do to complete this form if the Defendant only filed an Answer.			
	<ul> <li>□ Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.</li> <li>□ Mail copy to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.</li> </ul>			
Request a Tr	ial Date			
	Request for Setting.			
	Order Setting Divorce Trial (Judge will fill out date and time.)			

	Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.				
	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to				
	mail a copy of the Order Setting Divorce Trial to you.				
	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the				
	Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Divorce Trial to the				
	Defendant.				
	Mail a copy of the <b>Request for Setting</b> to the Defendant and keep a				
	copy for your records.				
<b>Pretrial Disc</b>	losures				
	File at least <b>30 days</b> before the trial date, unless otherwise ordered				
	by the court.				
	Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.				
	Mail copy to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.				
Request a Co	ourt Reporter				
	ne trial to be recorded by an official court reporter, provide notice to				
the court repo	orter as soon as possible, but no later than three working days before				
	u can notify the court reporter by phone, email, or by submitting a				
written request. If providing notice through the mail, the request must be received by the court reporter no later than three working days prior to the hearing.					
	Request a court reporter.				
Attend the T	rial:				
	ress respectfully, and do the following:				
	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in				
	Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the				
	Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in				
	Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.				
	Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the				
	marriage (why you want a divorce.)				
	Tell the Judge why the division of property and debts (who gets				
	what) that you are asking for is fair.				
	Present any evidence and witnesses to support what you are				
<u>—</u>	requesting.				

### **Decision by Judge:**

The Court will tell you at the end of the trial if it will prepare the **Decree of Divorce** or if it wants you or the other party to prepare the **Decree of Divorce** and the terms to include in it. Have a blank **Decree of Divorce** ready to fill out in case the Judge asks you to prepare the **Decree of Divorce**. This way, you can fill it out as the Judge gives their ruling.

	<b>Decree of Divorce</b> (Unless the Court is preparing this for you.)		
The Court may also require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county where your case is filed			
Copies and Envelopes:			
	Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.		
	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to		
	mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.		
	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the		
	Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.		
	Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for		
	your records.		

Your divorce will be complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is filed with the Clerk.