Board of Judicial Policy and Administration

TEAMS Meeting June 14, 2021 9:00 A.M. – NOON

AGENDA

BJPA Members: Chief Justice Michael Davis (Chair), Justice Kate Fox, Justice Lynne Boomgaarden, Judge Catherine Wilking, Judge Catherine Rogers, Judge Thomas Rumpke, Judge Wes Roberts, Judge Curt Haws, Judge Wendy Bartlett

Agenda Items		
Roll Call	Ronda Munger	
Welcome	Chief Justice Davis	
Introduction of New Division Heads	Chief Justice Davis	
Item of Interest	1. September Meeting – Justice Fox	
	A. Future of BJPA Discussion	
COVID-19 Orders	 Review – Justice Fox A. Eighth Order Amending March 18, 2020 Temporary Plan to Address Health Risks Posed by the COVID-19 Pandemic (Attachment A) B. Order Extending COVID-19 Emergency Order Adopting Procedures for Remote Administration of Oaths and Witnesses, Verification of Guilty Pleas, and for Paper Filings to July 1, 2021 (Attachment B) 	
BJPA Elections	 Terms Expiring on June 30, 2021 A. Justice Boomgaarden B. Judge Rumpke C. Judge Haws Chief Justice Davis Term Expires on June 30, 2021 A. Justice Fox 	

	3. Supreme Court Vacancy Term Expires on June 30, 2023
	A. Justice Gray
	4. New and Returning Members
	A. Supreme Court Selection
	I. Justice Boomgaarden, Term Expiration on June 30, 2024
	B. District Court Selection
	I. Judge Rumpke, Term Expiration on June 30, 2024
	C. Circuit Court Selection
	I. Judge Castano, Term Expiration on June 30, 2024
ARPA Funding	1. Update – Justice Fox
Chancery Court	1. Update – Justice Fox
Committee	A. Proposed Rules (Attachment C)
Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Chief Justice Davis, Judge Fenn, Judge Waldrip, Ret., Judge Sullins, Ret.	
Judicial Conference	1. Circuit Court Conference – Judge Christensen
Reports	A. No Update
<u>Circuit Conference President:</u> Judge Christensen	2. District Court Conference – Judge Wilking
District Conference President: Judge	A. No Update
Wilking	
Judicial Branch	Applications Division – Heather Kenworthy
Technology	1. Case Management System – Heather Kenworthy
Courtroom Automation Committee	A. FCE Circuit
Members: Chief Justice Davis (Chair), Judge Fenn, Judge Edelman, Judge Campbell, Judge Christensen, Judge Castano, Judge Haws	I. Circuit Court Change Committee Work
	a. Work Continues (Overdue Process, Global Forms Changes); Committee Temporarily Suspended to Allow Team to Focus on District Pilots
<u>Courtroom Technology</u> <u>Committee</u> Members: Chief Justice Davis (Chair), Justice Fox, Judge Lavery, Judge Johnson, Judge Christensen, and Judge	B. FCE District
	I. First Pilot Underway
	a. Preliminary Migration Complete and Court Training Underway
Prokos	II. Committee Members Continuing Evaluation of Migration

	and Configurations
III.	Working on Accounting Reports and Plans
	a. Reports Developed
	b. WSC Staff Training Underway Allowing for Maximum Use of Resources to Prepare Reports for Each Court
2. Jury Management	z – Heather Kenworthy
A. Group	5
I.	First Trial Support Occurred in Three (3) Courts
B. Activi	ties for Group 6
I.	Training Underway
II.	Two (2) Courts to Create First Questionnaire Pool in Clearview Jury
C. Work	with Vital Statistics
I.	Possibility of Increasing the Times Per Year to Update Clearview Jury Data Regarding Deceased Jurors
EFiling – Heather Ke	enworthy
1. Configuration und	lerway
2. Meeting with ven	dor regularly to prepare
Information Techno	logy Division – Nate Goddard
1. Informational	
A. CARE	S Funded Projects:
I.	Public iPads Deployment Complete
II.	Wireless Access Point (WAP) Deployment In Progress
B. Onsite	Visits Starting Mid-June
2. Courtroom Techn	ology
A. Absolu	ute! Audio/Visual Maintenance and Support Contract:
I.	Telephone Support
II.	One (1) Maintenance Visit Per Courtroom
III.	Expires December 31, 2021
B. Courtr	oom Technology Installs Planned:
I.	Albany District Court

	II. Sublette County District and Circuit Court
	III. Sweetwater Circuit Courts
Permanent Rules Advisory Committee (PRAC) Court Records Division Judicial Members: Justice Gray, Judge Overfield, Judge Castano Appellate Division Judicial Members: Justice Boomgaarden, Judge Fenn Civil Division Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Judge Castano, Judge Kricken, Judge Rumpke Criminal Division Judicial Members: Justice Kautz (Chair), Judge Sharpe, Judge Phillips Evidence Division Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Radda, Judge Phillips Juvenile Division Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Radda, Judge Phillips Juvenile Division Judicial Members: Judge Wilking (Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge Campbell, Judge Fenn	 Sweetwater Circuit Courts Court Records Division – Ronda Munger A. Committee Work Appellate Rules Division – Justice Boomgaarden A. Working with Shawna Goetz, Clerk of Court on Second Draft of Proposed Changes to W.R.A.P. I. Committee Meeting Expected to be Held Prior to September 1, 2021 to Discuss Changes II. Still Time to Submit Proposed Changes Civil Rules Division – Justice Fox A. Rule 28 (Attachment D) B. Rule 5(e) (Attachment E) Criminal Rules Division – Justice Kautz A. Phone Meeting Week of June 6 I. Review Proposed Changes to Rule 3: Errors in citations II. Discuss Proposed Changes to Rule 3.1: Use of citations; bail III. Discuss Proposed Changes to Federal Rule 16: Discovery IV. Discuss Review of WRCrP 24: Peremptory challenges Rules of Evidence Division – Judge Rumpke No Update Juvenile Rules Division – Judge Wilking A. No Update
Access to Justice Commission	 Update – Justice Boomgaarden A. Met Virtually on March 22, 2021
Court Security Commission	1. Update – Judge Roberts

Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee Judicial Members: Judge Overfield, Judge Bluemel, Judge Greer	 Informational A. W.S.C.J.E.A.C. Advisory Opinion 2021-01 (Attachment G) 	
Judicial Education	 Proposed Rule Changes – Justice Fox A. Rule 3 (Attachment H) 	
Interim Business Conducted Via Email	 Informational – Chief Justice Davis A. Approved Permanently Assigned Vehicle for Judge Bluemel 	
Parting Words and Attorney's Pledge	 Judge Haws A. Attorney's Pledge (Attachment I) 	
New Business	1. Member Input	

Attachments are highlighted