CHECKLIST FOR 
PLAINTIFF DIVORCE WITH MINOR CHILDREN

This checklist is for your convenience and is not a substitute for the detailed instructions.  Please be sure to read the detailed instructions.


STEP 1: Getting Started 
Not all the forms in this packet may be needed for your specific situation. It's important to go through them and read the instructions to know which ones you need.

Start by reviewing these three forms below:

· Overview 
· List of Forms- Plaintiff 
· Plaintiff’s Family Law Information and Instructions

STEP 2: Filing Your Divorce 
File your divorce in the District Court where either you or your spouse resides within Wyoming. Bring an original and two copies of all forms with you when you file your case. The Clerk will keep the original, you keep one copy, and the other copy is for serving the Defendant as described in Step 3.

☐	Complaint for Divorce with Children
☐	Vital Statistics Form
☐	Confidential Statement of the Parties for Child Support 
☐	Summons
☐	Pay filing fee (check with Clerk for amount and payment options)

STEP 3: Serving the Defendant 
Choose one option:
· If the Defendant signed the Acknowledgement and Acceptance of Service form: 

☐	File original Acknowledgment and Acceptance of Service form; and 
☐	File original Summons with the Court.

· If the Defendant was personally served by the Sheriff:

☐	File original Summons and the Return or Affidavit of Service (completed by Sheriff) with the Court.
STOP: Wait for Defendant’s Answer
Wait for the Defendant to file an Answer to the Complaint. 

If the Defendant was personally served in Wyoming or signed an Acknowledgement and Acceptance of Service: wait 20 days.

☐	20 days have elapsed.

OR

If the Defendant was personally served outside Wyoming: wait 30 days.

☐	30 days have elapsed.  

STEP 4: Initial Disclosures   	

☐	Send the Initial Disclosures to the Defendant within 30 days after the Defendant’s Answer is due. DO NOT file the initial disclosures with the Court.


STEP 5: Moving Your Case Forward
There are three options to choose from on this step depending on your situation.  Review each option carefully and pick the option that best describes your situation.

Option A:	If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim and you both agree on all issues, complete Option A.

Option B:	If the Defendant did not file an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim, complete Option B.

Option C:	If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim and you do NOT agree on all issues, complete Option C.
OPTION A:  	If the Defendant filed an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim and you both agree on all issues, fill out and file the following documents to finish your Divorce:

☐	Reply to Counterclaim.  If the Defendant filed an Answer and Counterclaim, you must file a Reply to Counterclaim within 20 days from the date the Defendant filed the Answer and Counterclaim.  You do NOT need to complete this form if the Defendant only filed an Answer.

☐	Confidential Financial Affidavit 
	☐	If employed, attach tax returns for past two years; and
	☐	Attach statement of earnings for the current year; OR
☐	If self-employed, attach verified income and expense statements for past two years; 
☐	Attach tax returns for past two years; and
☐	Attach documentation about health insurance if applicable.

Additional Forms That May Be Needed:
☐	Affidavit of Imputed Income.  If the Defendant does NOT file a Confidential Financial Affidavit, you will need to complete the Affidavit of Imputed Income form to show the Court how much money the Defendant makes.  You do not need to complete this form if the Defendant filed a Confidential Financial Affidavit.
☐	Affidavit for Divorce Without Appearance of Parties. Use this form only if both parties have reached an agreement and have signed the Decree of Divorce, or if one party has defaulted and all required default paperwork has been filed with the court, including an Entry of Default.
☐	Decree of Divorce with Children. Sign the Decree of Divorce in front of a Notarial Officer or the Clerk. Each page will need to be initialed by both you and the defendant. 
☐	Order for Income Withholding. 
The Court may also require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county where your case is filed.  DO NOT COMPLETE THESE FORMS UNLESS REQUIRED. 

☐	Certificate of Completion of a Parenting Class (If you are required to complete a parenting class, the instructor for the class will give you this form for you to file with the Clerk.)

Copies and Envelopes:
☐	Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.
☐	One envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
☐	One envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.
☐	Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.

Hearing: 
Some Courts require a hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce. 
If so, you will need to request that the Court set a date to hold the hearing.

☐	Request for Setting.
☐	Order Setting Hearing (Judge will fill out date and time.)
☐	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to you.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to the Defendant.
☐	Mail a copy of the Request for Setting to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.

Attend the Hearing:
Be on time, dress respectfully, and do the following:
☐	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.  
☐	Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the marriage (why you want a divorce.)
☐	Tell the Judge why the settlement you reached (who gets what) is fair. 
☐	Tell the Judge why the agreement you reached about the children is in the best interest of the children. 
☐	Give the Decree of Divorce to the Judge.  The Judge will make any necessary changes to the Decree of Divorce and sign it.
Your divorce will be complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is filed with the Clerk of District Court.

OPTION B.	If the Defendant does NOT file an Answer, fill out and file the following documents to finish your Divorce:

	☐	Application for Entry of Default.
	☐	Affidavit in Support of Default.
	☐	Take a blank Entry of Default for the Clerk to sign.
☐	Confidential Financial Affidavit.
	☐	Attach tax returns for prior two years; and
	☐	If employed, attach tax returns for prior two years; 
	☐	Attach statement of earnings for the current year; OR
☐	If self-employed, attach verified income and expense statements for prior two years; 
☐	Attach tax returns for prior two years; and
☐	Attach documentation about health insurance if applicable.
☐	Affidavit of Imputed Income. You will need to complete the Affidavit of Imputed Income form to show the Court how much money the Defendant makes.  
☐	Affidavit for Divorce Without Appearance of Parties.
☐	Decree of Divorce with Children.
☐	Order for Income Withholding.
The Court may also require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county where your case is filed.  DO NOT COMPLETE THESE FORMS UNLESS REQUIRED. 

☐	Certificate of Completion of a Parenting Class (If you are required to complete a parenting class, the instructor for the class will give you this form for you to file with the Clerk.)
	
Copies and Envelopes:
☐	Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for
filing.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.
☐	Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.

Hearing:
 Some Courts require a hearing before the Judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.
 If so, you will need to request that the Court set a date to hold the hearing.

☐	Request for Setting.
☐	Order Setting Hearing (Judge will fill out date and time.)
☐	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to you.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Hearing to the Defendant.
☐	Mail a copy of the Request for Setting to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.

Attend the Hearing:  
[bookmark: _Hlk194330691]Be on time, dress respectfully, and do the following:
☐	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.  
☐	Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the marriage (why you want a divorce.)
☐	Tell the Judge why the division of property and debts (who gets what) is fair. 
☐	Tell the Judge why the plans for the children are in the children’s best interest. 
☐	Give the Decree of Divorce to the Judge.  The Judge will make any necessary changes to the Decree of Divorce and sign it.
Your divorce will be complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is filed with the Clerk.

OPTION C.	If the Defendant files an Answer or Answer and Counterclaim, and you both do NOT agree on all of the issues of your divorce, fill out and file the following forms and attend the trial to finish your Divorce:
CAUTION:  It is strongly recommended that you hire or find an attorney to represent you at trial, though you may represent yourself.  If you choose to represent yourself, you proceed at your own risk and will be expected to know the law and follow the court rules.

☐	Reply to Counterclaim.  If the Defendant filed an Answer and Counterclaim, you must file a Reply to Counterclaim within 20 days from the date the Defendant filed the Answer and Counterclaim.  You do not need to complete this form if the Defendant only filed an Answer.

		☐	Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.
☐	Mail copy to the Defendant and keep a copy for your   records.

[bookmark: _Hlk171861497]Request a Trial Date
	☐	Request for Setting. 
☐	Order Setting Divorce Trial (Judge will fill out date and time.)
☐	Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Divorce Trial to you.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Order Setting Divorce Trial to the Defendant.
☐	Mail a copy of the Request for Setting to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.
Pretrial Disclosures
☐	File at least 30 days before the trial date, unless otherwise ordered by the court.
	☐	Take original and two copies to the Clerk for filing.
	☐	Mail copy to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.

[bookmark: _Hlk171861611]Request a Court Reporter
If you want the trial to be recorded by an official court reporter, provide notice to the court reporter as soon as possible, but no later than three working days before the trial.  You can notify the court reporter by phone, email, or by submitting a written request.  If providing notice through the mail, the request must be received by the court reporter no later than three working days prior to the hearing.

☐	Request a court reporter.

Attend the Trial:  
Be on time, dress respectfully, and do the following:
☐	Tell the Judge that either 1) you or your spouse have lived in Wyoming for at least 60 days immediately before you filed the Complaint for Divorce, or 2) you and your spouse were married in Wyoming and at least one of you has lived in Wyoming ever since.  
☐	Tell the Judge that there are irreconcilable differences in the marriage (why you want a divorce.)
☐	Tell the Judge why the division of property and debts (who gets what) that you are asking for is fair. 
☐	Tell the Judge why the plans for the children that you are asking for are in the children’s best interest. 
☐	Present any evidence and witnesses to support what you are requesting. 

Decision by Judge:  
The Court will tell you at the end of the trial if it will prepare the Decree of Divorce or if it wants you or the other party to prepare the Decree of Divorce and the terms to include in it.  Have a blank Decree of Divorce ready to fill out in case the Judge asks you to prepare the Decree of Divorce.  This way, you can fill it out as the Judge gives their ruling.

☐	Decree of Divorce with Children (Unless the Court is preparing this for you.)
☐	Order for Income Withholding. 
The Court may also require these additional forms (or others) depending on the county where your case is filed.  DO NOT COMPLETE THESE FORMS UNLESS REQUIRED. 

☐	Certificate of Completion of a Parenting Class (If you are required to complete a parenting class, the instructor for the class will give you this form for you to file with the Clerk.)

Copies and Envelopes:
☐	Take an original and two copies of each form to the Clerk for filing.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to you with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to you.
☐	Take an envelope addressed to the Defendant with postage for the Clerk to mail a copy of the Decree of Divorce to the Defendant.
☐	Mail a copy of the other forms to the Defendant and keep a copy for your records.
Your divorce will be complete when the Judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and it is filed with the Clerk.
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