



Does my spouse have to agree to the divorce? No. Your spouse doesn't have to agree for the divorce to happen. Also, in Wyoming, you don't have to explain your reasons for wanting a divorce. The law says you just have to state that you and your spouse have "irreconcilable differences," which means you don't get along anymore and can't fix the relationship.

Where do I file for divorce? To file for divorce in Wyoming, either you or your spouse must have lived in the state for at least 60 days before filing. But if you got married in Wyoming and have been married for less than 60 days, you can still file for divorce as long as one of you has lived in Wyoming since you got married. You can file for divorce in the county where you or your spouse lives.

How long does a divorce take? In Wyoming, the court can't grant your divorce until at least 20 days after you file the papers, but most divorces take longer than that anyway. It's important to understand that there will usually be several steps before your divorce is final.

Are children included in the divorce? Yes. If you and your spouse have children together and those children are still under the age of 18 (or meet certain other conditions), decisions about custody, visitation, and child support will be part of the divorce. The Court will make the final decision on these issues, but it is helpful if you and your spouse can agree on how these matters should be handled. Read the Child Custody Information Page for more information.

How will our property and debts be divided? If you and your spouse can't agree, the court will decide how to divide the property and debts in a way that is fair. The judge looks at things like who earned or got the property, what each person needs after the divorce, and how the property affects the parties and children. "Fair" does not necessarily mean everything will be split 50/50.

Can someone get spousal support (alimony) in a divorce? Spousal support (also called alimony) is not very common, but in some cases judges do order it. While you are going through the divorce process, the judge might order you or your spouse to pay support to the other person. The judge also might order one of you to pay the other person's attorney fees. When the divorce is final, the judge might order support payments of a specific amount for a specific length of time (including for life). The law allows either person to ask the judge to change that order.

Can I change my name? Yes. As part of the divorce, either person can choose to go back to a name they used before. Only the person asking for the name change can decide this. One spouse cannot make the other spouse change their name.

Are there forms to help me file for a divorce if I can't afford a lawyer? There are do-it-yourself forms you can use to file for divorce. The forms and instructions are free and available online at www.wyocourts.gov or you can purchase the forms for \$10 from any District Clerk's office.

TASK	DUE DATE	DONE