## AFFIDAVIT FOR DISTRIBUTION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY (Deceased With No Last Will and Testament) (Under Wyoming Statute 2-1-201)

STATE OF	)
	) ss.
COUNTY OF	)

1. My name is \_\_\_\_\_\_.

The name of the Decedent (the person who died) is \_\_\_\_\_

I believe I have a right to receive property that was owned by the Decedent.

I am making this Affidavit according to Wyoming Statute 2-1-201 in order to establish right and title to the tangible personal property owned by the Decedent. By making this Affidavit, I am declaring that I am a Distributee (person entitled to claim property) of the Decedent.

- 2. The Decedent died on \_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_.
- 3. More than 30 days have passed since the Decedent died. (This Form cannot be used until at least 30 days have passed since the death of the Decedent.).
- 4. The Decedent did <u>not</u> have a Last Will and Testament.
- 5. Select only one:
  - □ I am claiming all of the personal property that was owned by the Decedent, no matter where it is located.

OR

 $\Box$  I am claiming specific items of personal property that were owned by the Decedent. I have described the items in the paper labelled **Exhibit A**, which is attached to and part of this Affidavit.

The total amount of the estate is the value of all of the Decedent's property <u>minus</u> any liens and encumbrances that are held against the property.

"Liens and encumbrances" includes mortgages and all other debts of the Decedent, such as credit card debt, medical bills, and funeral expenses. Subtract the money that is owed from the value of the property to figure out the value of the estate. It is important to understand that those debts do not go away when the property is distributed. The person who receives the property may be required to pay the debts.

6. The value of the entire estate located in Wyoming and subject to administration, less liens and encumbrances, does not exceed \$400,000.00.

<u>Important Note</u>: If the value of the estate, minus liens and encumbrances, is more than \$400,000.00, you cannot use this form.

- 7. I am the Decedent's:
  - $\Box$  Spouse.
  - □ Legal Parent.
  - $\Box$  Legal Child.
  - $\Box$  Grandchild.
  - $\Box$  Sibling.
  - □ Other:
- 8. The Decedent died without a Last Will and Testament. Under Wyoming Statute 2-4-101, I am entitled to receive the property described in this Affidavit because I am an heir of the Decedent. I am an heir because of my familial relationship with the Decedent.
- 9. Select only one:
  - $\Box$  I am the **only** person who has a right to receive the property identified in Section 5 above. No one else has a right to receive this property under probate proceedings in Wyoming or in any other jurisdiction.

OR

□ I am <u>not</u> the only person who has a right to receive the property identified in Section 5 above. This chart shows information about each person who is entitled to receive the property and what share each person is entitled to. Everyone who is entitled to receive the property is listed here. No one other than the people listed here has a right to receive this property under probate proceedings in Wyoming or in any other jurisdiction.

Full Legal Name	Relationship to Decedent	Share (for example <sup>1</sup> / <sub>4</sub> or 25%)
(me)		

- 10. This section is about cases in Wyoming. No application (request) for the appointment of a Personal Representative is pending or has been granted in any jurisdiction in Wyoming.
  <u>Important Note</u>: If the statement in Section 10 is false, you cannot use this form.
- 11. This section is about cases outside of Wyoming. Select only one.
  - □ There has <u>not</u> been an application (request) for the appointment of a Personal Representative filed or granted in any other state.
  - OR
    - □ An application (request) for the appointment of a Personal Representative has been made or granted in another state. Here is information about that case:

Name of the	
Proposed or Appointed Personal	
Representative	
Address of the	
Proposed or Appointed Personal	
Representative	
Full Name of the Court	
(For example, The District Court in the 18 <sup>th</sup>	
Judicial District of Colorado, Arapahoe	
County, Colorado.)	
Title of the Case	
(For example, The Estate of Robert Brown)	
Date the Application was Filed	
Date the Personal Representative was Appointed	
(if that happened)	

□ I have attached more pages with information about other applications for appointment of Personal Representative.

12. I will file (record) the original of this Affidavit with the County Clerk of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ County, Wyoming, in compliance with Wyoming Statute 2-1-201.

13. I hereby swear or affirm, under penalty of perjury, that the information in this Affidavit is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Dated:, 20	Signature: Printed Name: Phone Number: Mailing Address: Email Address:		
	Linun 7 (401035).		
STATE OF	) ) ss.		
COUNTY OF			
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to, 20, 20,	before me by	this	day of
Witness my hand and offic	ial seal.		
	NOTARIAL OFFICER		
My commission expires:			

□ A Wyoming Judicial Branch Court Navigator helped with this form.

## Important Information for Anyone Who Currently has the Decedent's Property:

Pursuant to **Wyoming Statute 2-1-201(e)**, upon presentation of this Affidavit (after the same has been recorded with the county clerk), a person with custody of the Decedent's property or a holder of the Decedent's property shall pay or deliver any of the decedent's property held or on deposit in the sole name of the Decedent, together with the interest and dividends thereon, to the distributee or distributees named herein. A receipt for the payment by the distributee or distributees, or proof of delivery by the custodian or holder of the Decedent's property, shall constitute a valid and sufficient release and discharge for the payment or delivery made.